Research

The UD Nanofabrication Facility (UDNF) enables cutting-edge research in fields ranging from biomedical diagnostics to photonic devices. Collaboration across disciplines is a hallmark of research at UD and the UDNF enables critical connections between fundamental science and real-world applications. The list below provides a brief summary of UD research in the broad area of nanotechnology. We encourage you to follow the links to learn more about specific researchers and their interests.

This researcher is featured with one of our optical microscopes.

Research Areas

Device Fabrication Nanoscale Biomaterials Nanoscale Soft and Composite Materials Nanotechnology and the Environment Nanoscale Solid-State Materials

 

UD Faculty: To be included in this list, please submit your information here.

Device Fabrication

Dennis Prather

Dennis Prather

Engineering Alumni Professor

Department: Electrical and Computer Engineering

Email: dprather@udel.edu

 

Research: Design and Fabrication of RF-photonic elements and their integration into systems for imaging, communications and radar.

Arun Kumar

Arun Kumar

Assistant Professor

Department: Medical Laboratory Sciences

Emailarunk@udel.edu

 

Research: My research interest is Nanomedicine, regenerative medicine and microfluidic devices.

Website

 

Jason Gleghorn

Jason Gleghorn

Assistant Professor

Department: Biomedical Engineering

Email: gleghorn@udel.edu

 

Research: The Gleghorn Lab develops and uses microfluidic and microfabrication technologies to determine how cells behave and communicate within multicellular populations to form complex 3D tissues and organs.

Website

Nanoscale Biomaterials

John Slater

John Slater

Assistant Professor

Department: Biomedical Engineering

Email: jhslater@udel.edu

 

Research: Nano- and micropatterned biomaterials for cell engineering applications.

Website

April M. Kloxin

April M. Kloxin

Assistant Professor

Department: Chemical Biomolecular Engineering

Emailakloxin@udel.edu

 

Research: We create dynamic, biomimetic materials with controlled nanostructures utilizing combinations of responsive, self-assembling, and orthogonal chemistries and use these materials to understand temporally regulated biological processes.

Website

Emily Day

Emily Day

Assistant Professor

Department: Biomedical Engineering

Emailemilyday@udel.edu

 

Research: Our group uses a multidisciplinary approach to engineer nanoscale materials with unique physical and chemical properties so that they can be used to transform the study, detection, and treatment of cancer.

Website

David Martin

David Martin

Professor

Department: Materials Science and Engineering

Email: milty@udel.edu

 

Research: Conjugated Polymers for Interfacing Electronic Biomedical Devices with Living Tissue

Website

Kristi Kiick

Kristi Kiick

Professor

Department: Materials Science and Engineering

Emailkiick@udel.edu

 

Research: Design and synthesis of biologically active, multicomponent materials for regenerative medicine applications.

Website

Anja Nohe

Anja Nohe

Associate Professor

Department: Biological Sciences

Emailanjanohe@udel.edu

 

Research: Nanoparticle synthesis and use for imaging and targeting.

Website

Nanoscale Soft and Composite Materials

Eric M. Furst

Eric M. Furst

Professor

Department: Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Emailfurst@udel.edu

 

Research: Research in the Furst Group focuses on the physics and chemistry of colloidal, polymeric, biomolecular, and other soft materials.

Website

Christopher Kloxin

Christopher Kloxin

Assistant Professor

Department: Materials Science and Engineering

Emailcjk@udel.edu

 

Research: Dr. Kloxin synthesizes polymeric materials from the ground up through the design of unique monomers to precisely tune macromolecular structure and function for wide range of applications, with a particular interest in novel photopolymerization schematics.

Website

Lars Gundlach

Lars Gundlach

Assistant Professor

Department: Chemistry

Emaillarsg@udel.edu

 

Research: Electronic and optical characterization of nanomaterials by femtosecond time-resolved spectroscopy and microscopy.

Website

Norman J. Wagner

Norman J. Wagner

Professor

Department: Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Emailwagnernj@udel.edu

 

Research: Colloid and polymer science. Nanocomposites nanoscale metrology using neutrons.

Website

Nanotechnology and the Environment

Pei Chiu

Pei Chiu

Professor

Department: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Emailpei@udel.edu

 

Research: Fate of Pollutants in Environmental Systems

Website

C.P. Huang

C.P. Huang

Donald C. Phillips Professor

Department: Civil Environmental Engineering

Emailhuang@udel.edu

 

Research: My research expertise is the chemistry at the solid-water interfaces and my current research interests are on the application of nanotechnology for the remediation of impaired water and the environmental impacts of nanomaterials.

Website

Yan Jin

Yan Jin

Professor

Department: Plant and Soil Sciences

Emailyjin@udel.edu

 

Research: Soil and environmental physics. Fate and transport of colloids (including microorganism and nanoparticles) and colloid-associated contaminants or nutrients in porous media.

Website

Nanoscale Solid-State Material

Matthew Doty

Matthew Doty

UDNF Faculty Co-Director and Associate Professor

Department: Materials Science and Engineering

Emaildoty@udel.edu

 

Research: We explore quantum dots and other nanostructured semiconductor materials that can provide the foundation for future optoelectronic device technologies.

Website

Stephanie Law

Stephanie Law

Clare Boothe Luce Assistant Professor

Department: Materials Science and Engineering

Emailslaw@udel.edu

 

Research: Growth, fabrication, and characterization of new materials with plasmonic and metamaterial applications.

Website

Bingqing Wei

Bingqing Wei

Professor

Department: Mechanical Engineering Department

Emailweib@udel.edu

 

Research: Dr. Wei’s research interests lie in controllable synthesis of carbon nanomaterials including carbon nanotubes and graphene assembly of macroscale architectures with 1-, 2-, and 3-dimension physical, chemical, electrochemical, and mechanical property characteristics.

Website

Joshua Zide

Joshua Zide

Associate Professor

Department: Materials Science and Engineering

Emailzide@udel.edu

 

Research: Our primary focus is on the growth by Molecular Beam Epitaxy of novel III-V semiconductors and nano composites for applications ranging from thermoelectrics to solar cells to optoelectronics to terahertz devices.

Website

Joseph P Feser

Joseph P Feser

Assistant Professor

Department: Mechanical Engineering

Emailjpfeser@udel.edu

 

Research: Nanoscale thermal transport and thermoelectric materials/devices.

Website

Branislav Nikolic

Branislav Nikolic

Professor

Department: Physics & Astronomy

Emailbnikolic@udel.edu

 

Research: Spintronics, nanoelectronics, thermoelectrics, nano-biosensing, quantum transport theory, high performance scientific computing.

Website

S Ismat Shah

S Ismat Shah

Professor

Department: Physics and Materials Science

Emailismat@udel.edu

 

Research: Nanomaterials for energy and environment applications.

Website

Yi Ji

Yi Ji

Associate Professor

Department: Physics and Astronomy

Email: yji@physics.udel.edu

 

Research: Spin-dependent transport in nanoscale structures

Website

John Q. Xiao

John Q. Xiao

UDNF Faculty Co-Director and Unidel Professor

Department: Physics and Astronomy,  Electrical and Computer Engineering

Email: jqx@udel.edu

 

Research: Spintronics, magnetism, and nanostructured materials

Website